Who We Are

Since 1974, we’ve been bringing some of the best musicals, comedies and dramas ever written to life. We invite you to join us onstage, backstage or in the audience at our next performance. In addition, once a month we host a free to the public improv night at our rehearsal hall, fondly known as “The Shack”. Join in or just sit back for an evening of great fun and laughs!

Please explore our site to find information on performance news, auditions, membership information, donation and volunteer opportunities.

The mission of cwACT is: To collaborate with the Central Wisconsin community in order to create a full theatrical experience that all can enjoy.

We are headquartered and operate out of one building fondly called “The Shack” located at 2952 Minnesota Avenue. The 8,000 square foot Shack serves as our storage facility, rehearsal hall, business office and construction area for sets, props and costumes. Most performances are staged at Sentry Insurance’s Theater @1800.

We’ve been in business for 40 years. In 1973, Dr. Tom O’Malley and UWSP Theater Arts Professor Tony Schmitt saw a need in the community for an amateur theater group. They, along with the help of other community minded individuals, established the Area Community Theater or ACT. In 1980, the group became incorporated as a tax-exempt, non-profit enterprise. The name officially changed to Central Wisconsin Area Community Theater, Ltd. or cwACT.

Executive Committee:

President: Amy Schwaab
Vice-President: Amber Fait
Treasurer: John Omernik
Secretary: Nicole Congdon

To contact the Board, please email president@cwact.org.

Board of Directors:

Katie Alexander
Joseph Nowinski
Stephanie Hardi
Scott Frische
Lauren Priest
Tonya Haze
Maxine Hogan
Steph Schmid
Nathaniel Springer
Zoë Zalewski

The cwACT Board of Directors, elected by the cwACT Members, consist of 7 to 15 Directors who in turn elect the Officers of the Board. Directors serve three years, Officers serve one year. The Board of Directors have voting rights, Executive Committee Appointees do not.

The Board of Directors meet the first Thursday of each month at 6:30 pm via Zoom. All cwACT members are invited.